Connect with us

Women's Box Lacrosse News

Akwesasne Women Warriors, Ontario Women’s Box Lacrosse League (OWBLL) CHAMPS!!!

The Akwesasne Women Warriors finished out their 2015 regular season undefeated, gaining them the league championship. This is a first for the Women Warriors, who usually gain the second place spot every year. With tons of hard work and dedication from the team they are now gearing up to host the OWBLL Provincial Championships, August 14th-16th at the Anowarakowa Arena in hopes of winning that second title as Provincial Champions. Teams in attendance will be Niagara on the Lake, Toronto, Grand River, Whitby and Hamilton. The women warriors include Captain Cheyenne Lazore, Asst. Captain Waheson Lazore, Asst. Captain Mindy Delormier, Hannah Leaf, Lindsay Roundpoint, Shania Oakes, Shawnee Oakes, Presley Mitchell, Sierra Sharrow, Britney Miller, Bineh Garrow, Kylee Lazore, Pam Jacobs, Shea Gibson, Alisha Jacobs, Maria Colon, Kyra Thompson, Sara Thompson, Adrienne Thompson, Kiara Pyke, Kayla Jacobs, Cubby Jackson, Olivia Cook, Branka Bradley and Charlene “Brown” Lazore. The Women Warriors are coached by Everett Lazore, Big Boy Garrow and PJ Burns.

The Akwesasne Women Warriors would like to send a big thank you out to The Munch Box (Johnathan Lazore), Kastowah Gas (Caleb Bradley) and The Akwesasne Convenience Store Association for their sponsorship for the 2015 season. Also the community for their continuous support at various fundraisers, and most importantly their families for their support and understanding with the sacrifices they make and the time away from their families to play the game we love. Nia:wen Kowa.

Source: Cheyenne Lazore

More in Women's Box Lacrosse News